There are only a few remaining ferries in operation in Texas. But historically many ferries were located on the major rivers of East Texas.
Bolivar Roads Ferry (autos): crosses Bolivar Roads, from Port Bolivar (Bolivar Peninsula) to Galveston (Galveston Island), in Galveston County, on TX 87
Lynchburg Ferry (autos): across San Jacinto River, in Harris County; in operation since 1822.
Matagorda Ferry (passengers only): From Port O'Connor to Matagorda Island, in Calhoun County, since 1992. Regular ferry service begins at 9am on Thur and Fri, 8am on weekends and some holidays from park headquarters in Port O'Conner; last ferry leaves island at 4pm; roundtrip fare $10.00, reservations required.
Port Aransas Ferry (autos): across Corpus Christi Ship Channel, from Harbor Island to Mustang Island, in Nueces County, on TX 361
Los Ebanos Ferry (autos): across Rio Grande, owned by the Reyna family. Located eighteen miles out of Rio Grande City off U.S. Highway 83, the ferry began service in 1950. It provides the residents of several border towns with cheap transportation across the river. The ferry, reminiscent of its nineteenth-century predecessors, is a hand-drawn flatboat, with a capacity of only three cars. In 1975 a Texas Historical Commission marker was placed at the site, commemorating the point of crossing as the trail taken by José de Escandon's expedition. In 1991 plans were anounced to replace the ferry with a bridge, but in 1999 the bridge had not been built and the ferry was still in operation. (Hidalgo County)
Passenger ferry service across Rio Grande at Boquillas and Castolon/Santa Elena.
Epperson's Ferry: on Trammel's Trace, south of New Boston (Bowie and Cass Counties)
Ballew's Ferry: 10 mi. north of Orange, about ten miles north of Madison; Richard Ballew; c. 1817?, licensed by county in 1837, mentioned 1856. (Newton or Orange County?)
Princeton ferry: Princeton [near Deweyville] was laid out in 1839 on Princeton Bluff (or Possum Bluff). Princeton became a ferry and boat landing for Sabine River travelers. The Sabine Tram Company built a sawmill at a site [Deweyville] near an old ferry crossing on the Sabine known as Princeton, or Possum Bluff, in 1898. (Newton County)
Salem Ferry: Near Old Salem, southeast of Trout Creek. The commissioners' court recognized the site as a ferry and terminal in 1846. The ferry landing lay at the mouth of Big Cow Creek and the Sabine River, on the old road to Opelousas, Louisiana. The ferry continued to operate until 1937.(Newton County)
Belgrade Ferry: near Belgrade on the old Coushatta Trace. (Newton County)
Burr's Ferry: on State Highway 63, on "Nolen Trail"; The ferry was located on the middle branch of the Old Beef Trail, which ran from Huntsville, Texas, to Alexandria, Louisiana. It was known as Hickman's Ferry as late as 1840. However, an early Newton County commissioners' court meeting designated the crossing Burr's Ferry, in honor of Dr. Timothy Burr, a second cousin of Aaron Burr.qv Dr. Burr was an early settler in the Newton County area who eventually established a plantation on the Texas side of the Sabine River. The town that grew up around the ferry in Louisiana became an important business center for pre-Civil War Newton County. The ferry, which eventually included a wire cable and pulley enabling it to serve automobiles, discontinued operations in 1936, when a highway bridge connecting Texas Highway 63 and Louisiana Highway 8 was completed. (Newton County)
Hadden's Ferry: on the upper fork of the Old Beef Trail, near Toledo. (Newton County)
Low's ferry: In 1835 Isaac Low received a league and a labor of land from the Mexican government. He operated a ferry on this grant, on the Sabine River near the mouth of Lows Creek [east of Hemphill?]. The site is now under the waters of Toledo Bend Reservoir. (Newton County)
Pendleton Ferry: Also known as Gaines Ferry or Chabanan Ferry; on Old San Antonio Road or Natchez Trail from Natchitoches to Nacogdoches, near TX 21; continuous operation from 1795 to 1937. This ferry is thought to have been called El Paso de Chalán until 1796, when Michael Crow established Crow's Ferry. It operated until 1812, when it was purchased by James Gaines and renamed Gaines Ferry. The ferry was named for James Gaines,qv who purchased it in 1819 and operated it until 1843. In 1933 the state Highway Department took over the ferry at Pendleton, the site of Gaines Ferry, when the county could no longer afford the expense; in 1937 Pendleton-Gaines bridge was built to replace the ferry. (Sabine County)
Logan's Ferry: (near Logansport?)
Nixes Ferry?: c. 1836; later operated by John Hoosier
Elliot's Ferry: near River Hill. (Panola County)
Grand Bluff ferry: c.1846, near FM 1794 (Panola County)
Boards Ferry: southwest of Gill, in Panola and Harrison Counties
Pulaski ferry: somewhere in Panola County area, c.1846
Awalt's Ferry: Near Awalt, which was two miles south of Pine Tree Church near the site of the present western edge of Longview; during the Civil War era.
Walling's Ferry: just north of the site of what is now Easton in the extreme southeastern corner of Gregg County, operated by John Walling at site of Camden. Walling's ferry operation, which was on the road between Port Caddo and Henderson County, was licensed by the Mexican government in the early 1830s, and Camden reportedly served as a stopping point for Sam Houstonqv on his first trip to Texas in 1832. During the 1850s steamboats came up the Sabine as far as Camden. The rise of nearby Iron Bridge eventually doomed the town. By the late 1860s most of Camden's remaining residents had moved away. (Gregg and Harrison Counties)
Waters (?) Bluff ferry: a large ferry came into use at Walter's [Waters?] Bluff around the time of the Civil War. (Upshur and Smith Counties)
Red Rock ferry: fifteen miles southwest of Gilmer off U. S. Highway 259 in southwestern Upshur County (?), Several private ferries operated there during the 1850s, but Red Rock apparently declined after a large ferry came into use at Walter's [Waters?] Bluff around the time of the Civil War. (Upshur and Smith Counties?)
Belzora ferry: at FM 14 near Hawkins, licensed in 1850 to Radford Berry, situated on the heavily traveled Dallas-Shreveport road (Smith and Wood Counties)
Biloxi ferry: Despite setbacks, Newton County at one time licensed ferry operations at the Biloxi crossing of Big Cow Creek [near FM 1416 or FM 2460?]. (Newton County)
William Ashworth's ferry at Santa Ana, about three miles to the south of Beaumont (Jefferson and Orange Counties)
Tevis' Ferry: at townsite of Beaumont, on Opelousas Trail; Nancy Tevis Hutchinson (c. 1846,1848) (Jefferson and Orange Counties)
Joel Lewis' ferry: near Beaumont (?) (c. 1836) (Jefferson County?)
Pine Bluff Ferry: (c. 1842?)(later Collier's), five miles to the north of Beaumont (Jefferson and Orange Counties)
Richardson's Ferry: c. 1830, southwest of Evadale (Jasper and Hardin Counties)
Jeff Sheffield's Ferry: at FM 1013, east of Spurger. The end of an era occurred in 1959, when the last hand-pulled ferry in Texas, and perhaps the nation, was put out of business by a newly-opened bridge The ferry was built by Jeff Sheffield in the early 1900s and run by John I. Jerkins from 1917 to 1942, when the county took over its day to day operations. His son, Fred Jerkins started running the ferry in 1946, with his salary paid jointly by Jasper and Tyler Counties. "As a young man in the 1940s and 50s, I crossed Sheffield's Ferry many times, paying 50 cents a trip. It was a little scary driving a vehicle down the steep embankment and onto the unstable ferry, as it bobbed up and down in the water like a cork". "About 100 yards up river [from FM 1013] is the spot where Mr. Sheffield's ferry was located." Wagon, hacks, buggies and surreys were the most common vehicles using the ferry, until the Model T Ford came upon the East Texas scene in the teens and 1920s.(Tyler and Jasper Counties)
Collier's Ferry: lower Neches R.
Smith Ferry: just below FM R255. Randolph R. Smith, for whom the town was named, operated a ferry across the Neches. (Tyler and Jasper Counties)
Lewis Ferry?: above confluence with the Angelina River, seventy-five miles north of Beaumont in extreme northwestern Jasper County (and Tyler County); probably named for Martin B. Lewis
Belt's Ferry: Samuel Belt operated ferry at Fort Teran during Republic (on Alabama Trace). Began in 1830s. Continued operation under various owners til 1917. (Tyler and Jasper Counties)
John Sparks' ferry (c. 1846, 1848) (Jefferson County)
Amos Thames' ferry (c.1846)
Hatchett Ferry: Also known as David Rusk Ferry; just north of the mouth of Atoy Creek, near FM 343 ; 1840s, 1850s; on Cherokee Trace (Cherokee and Nacogdoches Counties)
Brown's Ferry: Also known as Brown's, was an early riverport on the Angelina River near its confluence with Attoyac Bayou in southeastern Nacogdoches County [now under Sam Rayburn Reservoir]. (San Augustine and Angelina Counties)
Robbins's Ferry: on the Old San Antonio Road (TX 21) in western Houston County (and Madison County), was established in 1821 by Joel Leakey. It was named for ferryman and owner Nathaniel Robbins and acquired in 1847 by his son-in-law Elisha Clapp, who operated the ferry until his death in 1856. Under Clapp's direction the ferry's name was changed to Clapp's Ferry. His descendants operated the ferry until 1930.
Morgan's Point Ferry: on State Highway 146 at Morgan's Point (and Baytown?), with no fee. The Morgan's Point Ferry closed in 1952. (Harris County)
Fort Bend ferry: White & Knight had a trading post and ferry at Fort Bend (Richmond), ca. 1827 (Fort Bend County)
San Felipe ferry: As early as July 1824 Stephen F. Austin and Baron de Bastropqqv issued a license to John McFarlan, giving him the exclusive privilege of operating a ferry at San Felipe de Austin. In 1830, George Robinson announces his operation of the ferry across the Brazos at San Felipe. Ferry regulations published for San Felipe ferry. The ferryman is obligated to cross everyone between sunrise and 10 o'clock at night. After night the ferryman will not be responsible for accidents and is authorized to receive double the usual price. After ten o'clock he is not bound to cross any person, unless it be a messenger for a physician or other medical aid. (Austin and Waller Counties)
Groce's Ferry: (In 1836? ...) Houston's army crossed the Brazos above San Felipe at Groce's (Ferry). (Austin and Waller Counties)
Washington ferry: In 1830, Andrew Robinson announces that he has completed his ferry boat at the La Bahia crossing [Washington-on-the Brazos], and that he has opened a "house of entertainment" within a few yards of the ferry for travelers and their horses. Washington began in 1822 as a ferry crossing on the Brazos River. (?) (Washington and Grimes Counties)
Hinkle's Ferry: at FM 2611, six miles south of Brazoria in southwestern Brazoria County